hunger and thirst

time was, I was
living too far inland
for the likes of gulls
such as I

so I sometimes had to rent a car
to get home to the shore
and once I drove
through the snow
of Vermont –
the road an asphalt ribbon
plowed clean even as
the snow fell.

I stuck my hand
out the window
from time to time
and licked the flakes.

I even stuck my head
out once so they
might melt on my tongue
partly because I was reluctant
to waste any time. . .
before I could park
by some pebbled beach
walk right up to the sea’s petticoat
and swallow the sky.

.

.

Leave a Reply

