love is not love which alters when it alteration finds…

 love is not love which alters when it alteration finds****
 and, saints above, will I remember reading those words
 I’d just pulled up the blinds and cracked the book
 on a saturday back-to-school morning in september –
 meaning to take a look at the work for that semester
 and I hit on that – and it knocked me flat, I can tellya 
 So that was a sonnet – well doggone it !
 I was hooked – and on Shakespeare, too, and, well, love
 I think I’d been hooked on that since I was twelve
 or maybe thirteen – but this was different – this said
 the kernel is constancy – that love remains
 though lovers change; that at heart love’s always maternal
 sees past the faults, the flaws, the pain…and never ends

.

.

****love is not love which alters when it alteration finds
Sonnet 116 published as having been written  by one William Shakespeare
.

.

Leave a Reply

