Garbage

Fourteen
              steps
                      lead
                             down to where the bins await  

                                   with their black gullet’s open

Steep enough

                                       for me to feel it in the thigh

Fourteen down
                               and fourteen back is twenty-eight.

Sometimes I count them      28 plus 28 is 56

My neighbour
           sees me often
                    with a can or two…

and then a second time I pass her by

she is surprised
                     to see me

with two more cans
                      and a bottle
                               and a box

This has happened
                     more than twice – and

             one day she just can’t resist

Why don’t you put them in a bag and take the lot ?

And
       why
         should i
               do that ?

                It would save you time

And what would I do with that ?
           You could join a sports club. You like sports .

You mean I could take a bus,
                                      rent a locker
                                  pay
                           and schedule
        what I am doing now
                       when I feel like it
                                                        for free…

.

.

Leave a Reply

