The Time of My Life

 

Turning point? No way José
Starting point !
At last to be free to play
the piano five hours a day
if I feel like it
instead of five minutes
before I leave in the morning
and another five at night
as I wait for the water to boil
for my pasta – and I will grow
my own tomatoes
and put up my own sauce –
I will live in my own
private Italian movie from the 50s
and no one will be able say a
a single word against it.

I will wear the clothes I feel best in
and I won’t change for days !
Clothes for walking a dog
or a kangaroo – why not !
If I feel like it I’ll keep
a miniature kangaroo for a pet
and we will hop to market
every Saturday and no one
will be able to say a single word
against it – or my Joey .

Ah, at last to be able to have the time
to grow my own vegetables
and make preserves and have a
chicken that lay eggs …that I’ll
keep in the garage if I want
and nobody will be able to say
a single word against it.

And I will NOT dye my hair
some color no one would believe
because It Is Written that
in business you have to look young

I tried telling the boss, dying your hair
doesn’t make anyone look young
it makes them look vain and stupid –
but as he is both vain and stupid
he was deaf to my argument
and when I pick up that last
paycheck, I intend to tell him so…

Oh, I can’t wait –
Retirement – the word
is music to my ears.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

