Be still!

Be still –

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Be still and know
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Still will be
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
That I am
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Be still
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Know that I am
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Be that I am
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
I am that I am
Ehyeh asher ehyeh
You must say
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 

I am

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
To say
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Even one name
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Of god
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
You must be still
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
To hear the voice beneath

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
I will be what I will be

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
I am that
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
I Am is that
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Eternally
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 

Being

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Which
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
You are
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 

I am:

Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
The very name
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
Of all that
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
That is
Ehyeh asher ehyeh 
God

.
.
The Hebrew in Exodus, the name god gives to Moses, Ehyeh asher ehyeh means “I will be what will be” It is often rendered in Christian Bibles either as I am who I am or I am that I am…but it doesn’t really matter…as the meaning may be subtler than Indo-european or semitic verb tenses. A deeper meaning can be sensed in Jesus’ saying “the Kingdom of God is within you” which implies also that you cannot call out to “god” without saying “I am”. The difference between spirituality and religion is the difference between the sun and a table lamp. Better to twirl like a Dervish in silence than to mistake words for experience. Holy books are to be respected, not adored. They are the menu, not the meal…and while I’m at it: Luke 15:23

Leave a Reply

