I love my mother tongue…

I go bananas when it is misued
bonkers when it is abused.
It is a marvel few users
appreciate at full value.
I love it because it has so many roots
(and if you’re nice maybe one day
I’ll explain why a past tense
of go is went ) yes roots and branches – that’s English
and I love it because it laps up other languages
like a stray Tom cat – in fact
it outright steals – coffee from the arabs
pepper and ginger from the hundus…
over one hundred tongues rifled
by the annie oakley of languages
(did you know gung-ho is cantonese ?)
and I love it because it’s this side of
useless when it comes to law
and unbeatable when it comes to litterature –
precisely because it is often
irrational and imprecise – so I’ll take
German for science
French for diplomacy
Italian for romance and music
but English for poetry.
Yes I love my mother tongue –
it shaped the way I see the world.

.
.

Leave a Reply

