Sparrowatch

My one big window has something outside
the grinning rental agents call a balcony
but which a British ex-pat I know has dubbed
The Queen’s Reviewing Stand

Every day I leave crumbs on a plate there
sometimes a raisin or some nuts
and the sparrows have come to know this

Oh they don’t show themselves much
but I do see them on the sills all around
preening and pretending to ignore me

They wait for me to leave, to close the window
and what strikes me so funny
is that not only do they think they are stealing
I believe they believe they are getting away with it

Silly sparrows, can’t they figure out
that the crumbs are there for the taking
that you cannot steal what is freely given

.
.

Leave a Reply

