It is a tale…

He was thinner than when I had seen him last,
almost gaunt, and I wondered if he felt the wind
as vicious as I did trying to shoo us off the crest

For a change he wasn’t smiling
no, he seemed unequivocally serious
for once and I found myself bracing for it…

It came as a single syllable Death
Then he traced a wide arc
as if to seed the valley town below –
the business hub with its competing towers
the scattered spires, the new sports complex…
and turning his ageless oriental mask to me
said in a near whisper a cover story, all of it.

.
.

Leave a Reply

