I TOO USED TO SLEEP AT THE FOOT OF OLD GLORY

 

I will play my ukelele
when the grid finally blows
I will play my ukelele in the smog
in the fallout and the rain
as we all go quite insane
I will play it as LA becomes a bog

I will play my ukelele
when there’s nothing left to play
when the lunatics have finally won the day
when they’ve droned half of Wyoming
[keep them mexicans from roaming ?]
I will strum & maybe hum, while others pray

I will play my ukelele – yes
and dammit all to hell!
when they’ve ruined ev’ry river, ev’ry lake
oh god loves me they keep sayin
[but they keep bombin’ while they’ze prayin’]
so ukelele you’re the last thing that they’ll take
………..from me

[& thank you John Prine]

Leave a Reply

