When…

Sitting in the park
all by my lonesome
under the lonesome tree
and this youngster comes
over and hands me a fallen leaf –
not half a leaf, no
she wasn’t sharing her leaf
with me like some sandwich –
she was sharing the joy
of just picking up a leaf
and looking at it as if
it was the most beautiful
thing in the world –
which of course is what it is.

Saw her again in the underpass
that leads to the mall – she looked
a bit like a photo my aunt took of me
once long ago in London –
she was hurrying to catch up
and I couldn’t help but wonder when –
when will they succeed
in making her believe that
they are right and she and I
are wrong about leaves

Leave a Reply

